Motherland, again

The swastika on the news
Did not require
Letters to speak
Words “smert’ zhidam”
Carved above it
In its native Cyrillic
Next to the Magen David
Left little to imagination
History spears each cell
Bristles at the mere mention
Flicks off my argument
Like a dog in a choke collar
I follow its relentless pull
Protest pools around my feet
I dive to its bottom
Too many doors are locked
And I find myself
Keeping my head covered
With silence but
In the end where will these
Christian soldiers
Set their onward?

4 thoughts on “Motherland, again”

Leave a Reply

