Take care

When I said Take care you thought
I meant Have fun
What I really meant was
This life is an experiment
Never done before

Take care to think about the moon and
The red maple and the grass and the
River that runs through the back woods

Take care to hear the song of the birch
To soar with the barn swallows and
To spill sweet tears into the peony

Take care to kiss those long adolescent
Bodies good night every night bathed in
Moonlight and honeysuckle

Take care to remember that this world is
Not of your design and that
Any roadmap is arrogance

Take care to measure twice and cut once and
To listen to prophets who
Have never been profitable

Take care to take time and space
From your fancy to understand that
There is no difference between sacred and secular

When I said Take care you thought
I meant Good-bye
What I really meant was
May you never be blinded by
What looks so obvious

4 thoughts on “Take care”

  1. “Any roadmap is arrogance.” “listen to prophets who / Have never been profitable”

    There is a gem in every stanza. Marya, this is truly one of the most beautiful poems I have read in a long time. I am going to print it out and tape it on my wall 🙂

Leave a Reply

